Here's a selection of some interesting insurance-related facts about this year's Group A and B teams at the 2018 FIFA World Cup held in Russia. 

Group C and D

Group E and F

Group G and H

Group A


Foreign companies were permitted to hold 100% of Egyptian insurers twenty years ago, in 1998 – the year that France won the FIFA World Cup on home soil.


During the 19th century, most Russians lived in rural areas in wooden houses. A system of compulsory insurance of rural property was created, most of which was insured through mutual insurance companies based in the towns. Russia are the hosts of this year’s FIFA World Cup for the first time in their history.

Saudi Arabia

Just after the FIFA World Cup in 2002, held in Japan and South Korea, compulsory motor third party driving licence insurance became effective in Saudi Arabia thanks to Decision No 222.


The first local company, Compania Oriental de Seguros Maritimos, writing marine insurance, was established in 1854. The all-time record for goals scored at a FIFA World Cup was set exactly 100 years later at the 1954 competition in Switzerland (140 goals - an average of 5.38 per match).

Group B


In 1935, the Iranian government established a state insurer, Bimeh Iran, which is still a market leader today. 1935 was the one and only year Real Betis were crowned La Liga champions.


The "Moroccanisation" law (which transferred majority ownership of domestic companies to indigenous capital) forbade foreign ownership of insurers and was passed in 1973. This was then repealed in 1990. In these 17 years, the Moroccan national football team scored a total of 3 FIFA World Cup goals – all in one 1986 game and all against their fellow 2018 group competitors, Portugal.


The insurance supervisory authority, the Portuguese Insurance Institute (ISP), was set up in 1982, the year that Italy won the FIFA World Cup in the country of Portugal’s Iberian neighbours and 2018 Group B rivals, Spain.


The first legislation on obligatory motor third party liability insurance was introduced in 1962, the year that Spain came last in their group which included the eventual winners and runners-up, Brazil and Czechoslovakia respectively.