Here's a selection of some interesting insurance-related facts about this year's Group C and D teams at the 2018 FIFA World Cup held in Russia. 

Group A and B

Group E and F

Group G and H

World Cup Facts: Group C


Australia’s first international team appearance ended in a 3-1 defeat to New Zealand in 1922. During the 1920s, most Australian states established general insurance offices to compete with the private sector. The largest state insurance office, the Government Insurance Office (GIO) of New South Wales, was established in 1926.


Despite its relatively small population, Denmark's insurance market is relatively large by international standards and, in 2015, was ranked 24th in the world in terms of non-life premium. By comparison, the Danish men’s national team FIFA/Coca-Cola ranking is 12th in the world.


In 1946, the 32 most important insurers were nationalised, and a national insurance school was created. Only three French players have scored over 32 goals for the national team (Henry, Platini and Trezeguet) in all competitions.


In 1975, three years before their third appearance at a FIFA World Cup, a Peruvian state monopoly was formed for all public-sector risks, written by Popular y Porvenir. The state-owned reinsurer Reaseguradora Peruana was also formed.

World Cup Facts: Group D


5 years before the infamous ‘Hand of God’ at the 1986 FIFA World Cup, Argentina introduced the requisition for all brokers to be registered (1981). 10 years after the same FIFA World Cup, Law No 24.805 was passed, unifying all regulations applicable to reinsurers and reinsurance brokers (1996).


On 1 July 2013, Croatia joined the EU. European teams have collectively won the FIFA World Cup a total of 11 times – Croatia’s highest finish of third was 15 years before it joined the Union, back in 1998.


The first insurance law came into force in 1903. Now, 115 years later, Iceland are playing in their first ever FIFA World Cup, ranked 22nd in the world after rising from 112th just 8 years ago.


In 1969, the National Insurance Corporation of Nigeria (NICON) was formed by Federal Government Decree, No 22. Just three years earlier, in 1966, the entire continent of Africa together boycotted the FIFA World Cup as three entire continents (Africa, Asia and Oceania) were unfairly only offered one place between them at the competition – then made up of 16-teams.